top of page

Kuwaiti Sampler: Social Happenings

Personally, the thing I feel the most anxious about when going to a new place is meeting people and finding ways to keep busy. As I've said before, one of the most comforting things since arriving has been how nice and helpful everyone I've met has been. The first week in one of my roommates suggested I come with her to Gaelic football practice. I loved the idea of joining a team sport again but was honest in saying I'd never played before. I was assured it wouldn't be an issue and that Wednesday evening I was introduced to the game. Basically, it's a mix between football, American football, rugby, and a bit of basketball. That evening, however, I not only rediscovered just how much I like being part of a team, but I also met some awesome people, some at their first practice like me. The team travels for tournaments so I'll get some travel in to places like Dubai, Qatar, Bahrain, Abu Dhabi, etc. so I'm excited to see the surrounding area that way.

This new commitment has also doubled as a social outlet, the team having parties, boat excursions, an upcoming quiz night for Halloween, etc. members from the men and women's teams as well as other come so I'm always meeting new people from all over the world.

Weekends vary, usually rest is a priority with some outings thrown in. Shopping malls are a huge part of things to do. The malls are extensive with every shop from every part of the world you could imagine. The Avenues, the largest mall in Kuwait is complete with American shops and shops I was familiar with in Italy. Eating wise I knew things would be okay when I walked in and saw a Cheesecake Factory, a Texas Roadhouse, and an IHop. The thing you need to constantly remind yourself not to do is convert into USD, because it's about 3 times more expensive. As my roommate explained: you get paid in Kuwait Dinar (KD) so just think in KD and it will be less depressing.

A weekend would not be complete without unnecessarily going to the grocery store and then watching a movie and hanging out for a bit. The weather has been cooling down nicely (so the mid 70s/80s) so training is a lot more bearable and walking outside is more enjoyable.

As always, it's been learning to find the balance but I have been enjoying meeting so many new people and hearing their thoughts and ideas from all over the world, seeing the sites, and enjoying myself. I look forward to continue to seeing the sights and reporting on my adventures.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page