top of page

Kuwaiti Sampler: Work


I find it only fair to start with the reason I'm in Kuwait: my job. I work for a company called the English Playgroup (EPG). They have 25 branches across Kuwait City, catering to the locations of families spread out across the area. I found the job online through a recruiter from Canada. Several Skype interviews later I was offered the job.

I teach 4 to 5 English lessons a day with classes of 16-18 five year olds. It's been a blast to dive in to experience with younger students, they are so full of energy (that can be good or bad depending on how they're feeling that day), and love coming to school and seeing you every day. There is a very different culture here in regards to student to teacher relationships. We can hug the children, cuddle them, say 'I love you' back to them (because they do it to you about ten times a day), etc. I can't say I've engaged in all those things as it's quite jarring to come from a system that makes you overcautious, especially as a teacher working with young people. It's been interesting to observe none the less and I'm sure my responses to their "I love you's" will be: "Thank you, I'm very glad you're here." for some time.

My day starts with a 5:10 wake up call and a 6am pick up by the school transport to our respective branches. I walk in to school at 6:30 and head up to my classroom to prepare my learning centres and get ready for the day. 7:40 is the start of our assembly when all FS1 and FS2 students (4 and 5 year olds) gather in the play area to do morning songs and stretches. We do a portion in Arabic, including their national anthem, and a few songs, then the English section. I've been waiting to share about assembly for some time because one of my favorite things we do is sing a song called Baby Shark. You know it. I promise. It absolutely cracked me up the first day and I thought: Yes, I can work with a school that sings Baby Shark every day.

8 o'clock school begins. Classes are 50 minutes long with 2, twenty minute breaks. One at 8:50 for breakfast and one at 10:50 for snack. Children bring food and it is also provided in case a child does not have anything that day.

A day with my students begins with carpet time. We do phonics activities, discuss how we're feeling that day, the weather, the day of the week, etc. Then we split off to different tables in the room. One teacher led table, 3 self discovery stations, and a reading corner. It's a tough squeeze and I'm still getting used to rotations but the students have been getting into our routine nicely. Patience and routine are everything.

4 days a week I have one vacant period during the day and one day without a vacant that rotates between all the teachers in my unit. On those days I teach 5 lessons instead of 4.

School ends for the children at 12:50 but they are collected from then out. I get picked up at 1:40 and taken back to my accommodation after prepping and sorting through work for the next day.

Recently we had an event called PIE (Parent Information Evening) where the parents came to the school to get a sense of where and what their child was coming every day. As the parents shuffled into my classroom I felt nervous because I knew there was one predominate reason they were there: to scope out the teachers. Not only did I feel confident with the evening but I met so many kind parents excited to meet me (and sneak out some info about their student before parent teacher conferences). The same concept was produced during our Open Day but the parents came and followed the students to their classes seeing what a "normal" day was like for them. One of the most heartwarming things was to see the parents and children interacting. Seeing them light up, seeing the support their parents gave by attending.

Not very poetic, but it's a weekday in the life. My students are heartwarming and bright. Of course there are some "extra special" ones who need a little more but I learn everyday, especially from those students who need school the most.

I'll be the first to admit to others that I'm a new teacher. That I'm constantly figuring things out and sometimes getting stuck. What I keep telling myself is that it's okay and important to be open about when I need help, when I don't understand, or when I don't know what to do. Like I said, the school community I'm a part of has been considerate and helpful. Between my fellow teachers, Branch team, and even my students I learn so much everyday.

Some days are hard but there has not yet been a hard day where I don't feel like I love teaching and that I love what I'm doing.

Often times the things you work hardest for are the things that bring you the most satisfying results. I worked very hard to get here, both through obtaining my degree and just this past summer of setting up my work visa to come to Kuwait. I know when it comes to teaching I didn't have to travel half way across the world to be reassured that every day would be an adventure. If you do it right, teaching is a daily adventure no matter where you are. But I'm glad that I'm here and I'm thrilled to continue to work with my students. After all: I'm so glad they're here today.

http://www.epg.edu.kw/


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page