top of page

Kuwaiti Sampler: Living/Culture

Alright, on to the next. I'm sure a lot of people are curious about what it's been like living here in Kuwait. I know that perceptions about what it would be like to live here often differed depending on the persons age and what they knew (or assumed) about living here. Especially in the United States, especially now, we have been exposed to the idea that Middle East=unsafe. There are many reasons why, I know. Some of them credible and understandable. But, to be honest, I wasn't afraid at the thought of coming to live here. That was hard to get across to a lot of people because either their minds were made up about it and they could only be nervous for you, or they don't know a lot about it and they're excited and opened minded. Or, the combination, where they don't know a lot about it, or where it even is in the world and you say Middle East and or/ shares borders with Iraq and Saudi Arabia and they look a little off beat for a moment. I was prepared for all of these things and knew it was a big deal, that's why it took so long to tell my family. But in retrospect I feel that it was more out of fear of their fear than of my decision.

I prepared myself for a very strict country but I have felt safe and comfortable here since arriving. What are the rules? You may be wondering.

No alcohol. You can find all the alcohol free beer you like but alcohol is illegal.

Conservative dress in the streets and at shopping malls etc. You can wear short sleeves, skirts that go past your knees, and to be honest a lot of those rules are flexible depending on where you are. But I haven't felt impaired by these rules, even in the heat which was surprising. I do not have to have my head covered and a lot of family and friends asked me if they thought it'd be better if my head was covered. Honestly, it's a seamless mix of people who do and do not have their head covered. I do not feel like I stand out as there is such a wide spectrum of dress everywhere I go.

No music after ten o'clock blasting out your car, or dancing out on the street. When you're at home, you can do what you like.

Men and women cannot live together if they are not married and for my building, guys have to be out by 11. No sleepovers.

Public displays of affection vary. I wouldn't do it but many people will hold hands. Of course, mothers and fathers are always holding the hands of their children, hugging and showing them affection.

There are no pork products. No bacon. They do have turkey bacon, and it's not bad.

You can wear open toed shoes, you can listen to music, play music, you can go on dates with people, it's not a place where you feel like you can't live. On the contrary, I've only been here five weeks and I have a more developed social life than college, if you can believe it. I've been told Kuwait is more laid back than Saudi Arabia but just less than Dubai. It is a city that understands the present but also greatly values the religious and cultural aspects and traditions that have shaped their lives.

How's that for an opening?

On to more relating to me tidbits. When I arrived I was living in a temporary accommodation aka an apartment building, with two other roommates as we waited for our villa accommodations to finish. That first night I woke up at 4am in a small fright to loud singing over speakers outside my window. Only later did I realize it was the call to prayer from the mosque not 100 feet outside my window. The call to prayer happens several times day. When work and business will stop for that very reason: to be called to prayer. I must say, my four am wake up call was not my favorite but it did create an immediate awareness for me.

Now that I have moved there are only mosques under construction around us, so I have been enjoying a reprieve from the early morning wake ups. I live on the second floor with two other roommates. We each have our own room and bathroom, shared kitchen and lounge area. My roommates are incredible and have been a huge support and comfort since arriving. My roommate from my temporary accommodation lives across the hall and she has also been all those things and more, since she was really the first person to reach out to me when I arrived.

I've found that to be true about many of the people I've meet here. Through work and Gaelic football there is a mutual understanding that we all come here and have no idea what to do and so when you do know, it's effortless to reach out knowing how the other might feel. Anyway, the villa houses the single female teachers that work at EPG. There is a (albeit small, gym and a pool that I'll be thrilled to swim in once finished, and some restaurants across the street. It's slightly in the middle of no where but the city functions mostly on taxi versus walking like when I lived in Milano.

Another perk of my living situation is we're a flight from the roof with a great view of the sea and the sunrise.

Being immersed in this new culture however has not made me shy away from life. If anything I have enjoyed learning and observing the culture here and feel that I have been enjoying and exploring more than I would have been in the U.S.

I continue to learn and settle into Kuwait every day, but my mindset and willingness to learn about a new place continues to provide a positive experience for me.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page